top of page


The Hellenic-American Chamber of Commerce has always been determined to honor individuals who share its interest in cultivating and supporting a legacy of excellence in business culture and the Greek-American community.

The Person of the Year Award is given annually to such an individual at our Dinner Gala.


In previous years, we have honored many Greek Americans, as well as Greek Nationals, who have supported our vision.

Past Recipients

2023   Nikolas P. Tsakos, Founder President and CEO, Tsakos Energy Navigations, TEN Limited

2019   Nicolas A. Vernikos, President International Chamber of Commerce; President, Vernikos Maritime 

2017   Polys Hajioannou, Chief Executive Officer Safe Bukers, Inc.

2016   Nitsa Logothetis, Founder & Executive Chairperson of Seleni Institute

2015   Andreas C. Dracopoulos, Co-President & Member of the Board, Stavros Niarchos Foundation

2014   Robert D.Somerville, Former Chairman & CEO, American Bureau of Shipping

2013   Robert G. Shaw, Managing Director, Sea Trade Holdingr Inc.

2012   Spyros M. Polemis, Chairman &Managing Director, Seacrest Shipping Co., Ltd

2011   John A. Angelicoussis, Chairman & CEO, Angelicoussis Shipping Group Ltd

2010   Sophocles N Zoullas, Chairman & CEO, Eagle Bulk Shipping Inc.

2009   Clay Maitland, Managing Partner, International Registries Inc.

2008   George M. Marcus, Chairman, The Marcus & Millichap Company

2007   Angeliki Frangou, Chairman & CEO Navios Maritime Holdings Inc. 

2006   C. Dean Metropoulos, Chairman & CEO C Dean Metropoulos & Company

2005   Costas Kondylis, Principle, Costas Kondylis & Partners LLP

2004   Peter C. Georgiopoulos, Chairman, CEO & President, General Maritime Corp.

2003   Dora Bakoyianni, Mayor, City of Athens

2002   James N. Gianopulos, Chairman, Fox Filmed Entertainment

2001   Christos M. Cotsakos, CEO, E*Trade Group, Inc.

2000   John J. Steitz, Jr., Thomas Cook & Son

Invitation HACC Gala  (3).png
bottom of page